County Cross Country Championships

Our next endurance event will be the County XC, to be held at Burbage Common on Saturday 8th January 2022. Entries are now open and will close at 10pm on Wednesday 5th January. The full prospectus is here. This event will form the first leg of the County Endurance Challenge.

2021 County 10K Road Race Championships: December 12th, 2021

Mallory Park hosted our final County Road Race Championships of 2021. The pattern of the race was soon established as the leading man and leading woman surged to race winning leads on the opening lap of six circuits. The Men’s race was dominated by Jordan Rowe (Thames Valley Harriers), a Loughborough resident, who had featured prominently in the European XC Trials at Liverpool just a fortnight earlier. Jordan stretched his lead throughout crossing the line in a time of 30 minutes & 41 seconds to clinch his inaugural Leicestershire & Rutland County title. Tony Woodward (Notts AC), fresh from a 2-24 top 20 finish at the London Marathon, took County Silver in 32-21. Close behind, Luke Ingram (OWLS AC) got the better of a fine tussle with David Robertson (Leicester Coritanian AC) to take the County Bronze in 32-48. The Masters Gold was secured by Fraser Harris (Hermitage Harriers) in 38-29; whilst Zach Spence (Wreake & Soar Valley AC) took the U20M Gold in 39-09. Zach has supported the vast majority of our County Championship events this year and should be commended for his persistence. The women’s race was once more poorly supported by County runners, leading to medals going spare. Justine Anthony (Cambridge & Coleridge AC), another Loughborough resident, took Gold with a dominant display clocking a more than respectable time of 37 minutes & 00 seconds. The only other County female finisher was Gracie-Rose Walters (Charnwood AC) who clocked 46-09 to claim the individual Silver and the U20W Gold. The County Association once more wish to extend our gratitude to the race organiser (Rob Osborn of Race Rapid) whose on-going support over the past two years has enabled us to offer both a 5K and 10K (2020 & 2021) Road Race Championships at this challenging time for the sport.

2021 County Road Race Championships: October 31st, 2021.

Wet and windy weather added an additional challenge to the Leicestershire & Rutland Road Race Championship events held on Sunday, October 31st.

County 5K Road Race Championships
At Mallory Park, the County 5K Road Race Championships featured within the day’s competitions organised by Race Rapid. The Men’s race came down to a sprint finish along the home straight with Adam Barber (Harborough AC) just holding off David Robertson (Leicester Coritanian AC) for the County title by less than a second with both clocking a highly respectable time of 15 minutes & 13 seconds in the prevailing conditions. Just two seconds down (15-15) Tom Mahon (Wreake & Soar Valley AC) took the individual Bronze. Adam also secured the Junior Men’s Gold, whilst Mark Powell (Leicester Coritanian AC) (16-31) was the leading Masters finisher. The Women’s race was by comparison more clear-cut with Stephanie Lawrie (Kettering Town Harriers AC) claiming the County title in a time of 18-24, with Isabella Wrightam (Wreake & Soar Valley AC) (19-40) and Gracie-Rose Walters (Charnwood AC) (21-39) claiming Silver & Bronze. Isabella also secured the Junior Women’s Gold. There were no finishers in the Masters Women category.

County Half-Marathon Championships
The County Half Marathon Road Race Championships were held within the Leicester Half-Marathon starting and finishing at Victoria Park, Leicester. Facing the worst of the day’s weather it was Leicester Coritanian AC’s Pascal Bouttier-Butler (74-27) that secured the County title, with the 22-year-old taking over 6 minutes from his previous best time. The remaining individual medals were claimed by Jason Barton (Stilton Striders) (76-46) and Gurmit Singh (78-44). Gurmit also claimed the Masters Gold with Toby Ward (Hinckley RC) (79-36) taking the Junior Gold. In the Women’s event the County medals were awarded to: Rebecca Randell (Shepshed RC) (82-48); Emily Hall (West End Runners) (90-22); and Sarah Horner (West End Runners) (92-02). The Women’s Masters Gold was awarded to Mika Mihell (Wigston Phoenix RC), who recorded a time of 98-54.
The County Association wish to extend our thanks to the organisers of the above events for so kindly hosting our Championships.